Community Profiles Now Include More Places to Explore

We've enhanced the "Places" section of our Community Profiles to make it easier for you to discover popular nearby places.

North Dakota Gazetteer

North Dakota - Basic Information

Became a State: November 2, 1889 - 39th State
Population: 672,591 (2010 Census) - Ranks 48th
Land Area: 69,000.8 square miles - Ranks 17th
Population Density: 9.7 persons per square mile - Ranks 47th
Housing Units: 317,498 (2010 Census)
Housing Unit Density: 4.6 housing units per square mile
July 1, 2023 Estimates: North Dakota Data and Demographics
State Capital: Bismarck
State Website: Official State of North Dakota Website
North Dakota State Flag
North Dakota state flag

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

Use HTL Address Research for a North Dakota Address and get...

Boundary Maps, Demographic Data, School Zones Review maps and data for the neighborhood, city, county, ZIP Code, and school zone. July 1, 2023, data includes home values, household income, percentage of homes owned, rented or vacant, etc.

North Dakota Neighborhood Explorer

NOTE: The BEST tool for researching a neighborhood is the HTL Address Research Tool (above). However, if you do not have an address, the North Dakota Neighborhood Explorer is the SECOND-BEST-TOOL to research a neighborhood (it provides a subset of the information that the Address Research Tool provides), but you can get a report by simply marking a spot on a map.

The North Dakota Neighborhood Explorer helps you to research any North Dakota neighborhood (census block group) and get home values, average household income, owner/renter/ occupancy rates, projected growth rates, boundary maps, comparisons to other communities, and much more.

Simply mark a spot on a state map and you'll have your results within 3-seconds!

North Dakota Neighborhood Explorer

North Dakota History

North Dakota State Flower
North Dakota State Flower - Wild Prairie Rose

The United States acquired most of the area of North Dakota from France in 1803 as part of the Louisiana Purchase. It obtained the area in the north and northeast part of the present-day state by a convention, signed with Great Britain in 1818 that extended the northern boundary along the 49th parallel. Dakota Territory was organized on March 2, 1861, from unorganized area formerly within Minnesota Territory and part of Nebraska Territory. Dakota Territory included all of the present-day states of North Dakota and South Dakota, most of Montana, the northern half of Wyoming, and a small part of Nebraska. The territory was reduced in 1863 with the organization of Idaho Territory, enlarged in 1864 with the addition of most of the remainder of present-day Wyoming, and again reduced with the organization of Wyoming Territory in 1868. In 1882, the state of Nebraska acquired an area north of the Keya Paha River and Niobrara River. North Dakota was admitted to the Union simultaneously with South Dakota on November 2, 1889, as the 39th and 40th states, with generally the same boundaries as the present states.

Census data for the combined area in present-day North Dakota and South Dakota are available in the 1860 census (and listed in national tables with South Dakota). The 1860 census population is for territory reported as "unorganized Dakota" and includes population in areas now in Montana. The 1860 population excludes some population enumerated in Nebraska Territory. Although the state had not yet been legally established, the 1870 and 1880 populations generally are for the area of the present state. The population of Dakota Territory as legally established was 135,177 in 1880 and 14,181 in 1870.

Data for the legally established state of North Dakota are available beginning with the 1890 census.

North Dakota Geographical Areas

See: Geographic Terms & Concepts

Counties & County Equivalents

Interactive Map of North Dakota Counties | Static Overview Map of North Dakota Counties

There are 53 counties in North Dakota.  All counties are functioning governmental units, each governed by a board of county commissioners.

County Subdivisions

North Dakota has 1,765 county subdivisions which are minor civil divisions (MCDs). There are 1,317 townships which are functioning, but not necessarily active, governmental entities.  Townships are governed by a board of township supervisors.  Rushville township, Ward County is inactive.  There are 357 incorporated places which are independent of MCDs and serve as 364 county subdivisions.  There are also 84 unorganized territories.  Billings, Dunn, Mercer, Oliver, and Stark Counties have no townships and are covered entirely by unorganized territories or cities independent of any MCDs.

Places (Incorporated Cities, Towns & Census Designated Places (CDPs))

North Dakota State Bird
North Dakota State Bird - Western Meadowlark

North Dakota has 401 places; 357 incorporated places and 44 census designated places (CDPs).  The incorporated places are all cities.  There is no minimum population for incorporation in North Dakota.  All incorporated places are independent of county subdivisions.

Alphabetical List of Cities, Towns, CDPs and Other Populated Places
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q, R | S | T | U, V | W, X, Y, Z

North Dakota Civil Features

North Dakota Civil Features: Political Subdivisions, Native Areas, Land Grants, etc. - sorted by Census Class Codes.

Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas

There are 2 Metropolitan and 5 Micropolitan Statistical Areas in North Dakota. ND Metopolitan & Micropolitan Areas

North Dakota ZIP Code Tabulation Areas

There are 393 ZIP Code tabulation areas (ZCTAs) in North Dakota. View North Dakota ZIP Codes and ZIP Code Maps.

School Districts

North Dakota has 29 elementary school districts and 155 unified school districts. View North Dakota Public and Private Schools.

Congressional Districts

North Dakota has 1 congressional districts. An interactive map shows the contact information for each Representative as well as the boundaries for each North Dakota district. View Map of North Dakota Congressional Districts.

State Legislative Districts

There are 47 state senate districts and 47 state house districts in North Dakota.

American Indian Areas

North Dakota has five federally recognized American Indian area reservations, two with off-reservation trust land.

Other Information Of General Geographic Interest

The town of Rugby is the geographical center of North America.

North Dakota Physical, Cultural and Historic Features

  1. North Dakota Physical Features such as lakes, islands, streams, valleys, summits, etc.
  2. North Dakota Cultural Features such as schools, churches, hospitals, parks, dams, reservoirs, etc.
  3. North Dakota Historical Features and North Dakota Historic Landmarks

North Dakota Maps

  • To find a ZIP Code: input the address in the top-left search box of any ZIP Code Map.
  • To find the County: input the address in the top-left search box of the interactive ND map.
  • To find the School Attendance Zone: input the address in the top-left search box of any ND school map

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

North Dakota Census Data Comparison Tool

Compare North Dakota July 1, 2023 Data
Highest or Lowest: